Nuwan Seneviratne

Sri Lankan throw-down specialist wins big cash prize by BCCI

Sri Lankan throw-down specialist coach Nuwan Seneviratne, a key member of India’s men’s cricket team, has struck it big with a substantial cash prize of Sri Lankan Rs. 72.8 million (Indian rupees 2 Crores), awarded by his employer, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

This windfall follows India's recent triumph over South Africa in the final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup held in the US and the West Indies.

Seneviratne was recruited by the BCCI on the recommendation of batting great Virat Kohli, who first noticed his skills during India’s series in Sri Lanka a year prior to his hiring, just ahead of the 2018 Asia Cup in Dubai.

A former first-class cricketer for CCC, Seneviratne was brought in specifically to address India's vulnerability against left-arm quick bowlers, a concern highlighted during previous bilateral series.

Under his guidance, India's batting stalwarts such as Virat Kohli and captain Rohit Sharma significantly improved their performance against left-arm seamers at the international level.

Initially contracted until the 2019 World Cup in England, Seneviratne has since become a permanent fixture in the coaching staff of the India men’s team, culminating in their T20 World Cup victory in the Caribbean this June.

The BCCI has reportedly allocated a staggering Indian rupees 125 Crores (SL Rs. 4.5 billion) to the Rahul Dravid-coached team in recognition of their first ICC Trophy success in 11 years and their maiden T20 global title since 2007.

In addition to the ICC prize money of $2.54 million (Rs. 772.9 million), the BCCI has generously rewarded three non-playing squad members—Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, and Yuzvendra Chahal—with Indian rupees 5 Crores (Rs. 182.2 million) each.

Further acknowledgments include Indian rupees 2.5 Crores (Rs. 91.1 million) awarded to Team India’s backroom staff led by Rahul Dravid, and Indian rupees 1 Crore (Rs. 36.4 million) each to the five-member selection panel headed by former pacer Ajit Agarkar.